News Round-up Week Ending 28 September 2018

Here’s a small selection of the horror and genre news that caught our eye during the last week …

Silverwood - coverThe collaborative project Silverwood: The Door written by Brian Keene, Michelle Garza and Melissa Lason (The Sisters of Slaughter), Richard Chizmar, and Stephen Kozeniewski, and is set to premier over at Serial Box next week. Based on the web series Silverwood by director Tony E. Valenzuela, this group of writers plan to take the story even further, releasing the story serial style through Serial Box, providing content much like a Netflix for readers. Serial Box offers several ways to read the stories, including subscriptions and season passes. Ahead of the release date of the project, Serial Box has released a sneak preview which you can read here. Silverwood: The Door releases 3 October 2018.

Infidel by Pichetshote & Campbell - coverPornsak Pichetshote and Aaron Campbell’s graphic series Infidel has been collected and soon to be released in trade comic format. With additional art by Jose Villarrubia and lettering by Jeff Powell, Infidel is a haunted house story for the 21 century. When an American-Muslim woman moves into a building with multinational neighbors, she encounters a strange entity that feeds off of xenophobia. Selected for NPR’s ‘100 Favorite Horror Stories of all Time’, this volume collects issues 1-5 and releases 2 October 2018. Pre-order Infidel here.

Die Issue 1 - coverThe Wicked + The Devine creator Keiron Gillen is teaming up with Stephanie Hans for the upcoming horror series Die. The role-playing game culture gets turned on its head when a group of forty-something adults get back together to face off an evil they encountered as teens. The group disappeared as teenagers during a role-playing game, only to be found later, all of them unwilling talk about what happened to them. Gillen calls it ‘Goth Jumanji’, but there’s plenty of opportunity to dive into some deeply disturbing territory here, all of it ripe with horror potential. The series is set to release 5 December 2018 from Image Comics and also features lettering by Clayton Cowles. Watch this space for additional information about this series, including pre-order dates, as it becomes available.



Support This Is Horror Podcast on Patreon

  • For $1 you get early bird access to all our podcasts and can submit questions to guests.
  • For $3 you get access to our patrons-only podcast Story Unboxed: The Horror Podcast on the Craft of Writing.
  • For $4 you get the full interview, no two-parters.

The best way to support This Is Horror is via Patreon. How much will you pledge? Go on. Be awesome.

Visit our Patreon page and pledge to the This Is Horror Podcast today. 

This Is Horror Books

Head on over to the This Is Horror Shop to see the books we have available. We have a special offer on All Four Year One Books—JUST £10!

This Is Horror Books on Kindle Unlimited and Amazon

Subscribe, Rate and Review on iTunes!

Help the Podcast, spread the word: subscribe, rate and review on iTunes UK, iTunes US or your country’s iTunes.

Amazon Affiliates

Support us by shopping through our Amazon Affiliate links: Amazon UK and Amazon US.

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: