Look Out For… Fellside by M.R. Carey and Dead Letters

fellsideLook Out For… Fellside by M.R. Carey

“Fellside is a compelling mixture of the ghostly and grim reality.”

A haunting and heart-breaking new thriller from the author of the word-of-mouth bestseller The Girl With All the Gifts

Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. It’s not the kind of place you’d want to end up. But it’s where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life.

It’s a place where even the walls whisper.

And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess.

Will she listen?

Discover M. R. Carey’s powerful new novel–a chillingly atmospheric tale filled with tension, action and emotion that’s set to take the world by storm.

Why We’re Excited About This Book:

2014’s The Girl With All The Gifts was a huge success for M.R. Carey – now he returns with the supernatural thriller Fellside, a compelling mixture of the ghostly and grim reality.

The novel tells the story of Jess Moulson, who has been sent to the titular woman’s prison for a crime she has no memory of committing: an act of arson that injured her boyfriend, scarred her own face and killed a ten year old boy. Fellside is a dangerous place, with corrupt guards, drug trafficking, abuse and sociopathic fellow inmates. And that’s before Jess starts seeing ghosts…

The mystery of Jess’s past is at the heart of Fellside. With strong characterisation, a distinctive setting and a plot that twists and turns right until the end, it looks set to be another hit for M.R. Carey.

Fellside is released on 7 April 2016 from Orbit.


dead lettersLook Out For… Dead Letters

“Dead Letters has a line-up of authors bound to make horror fans eager for a copy.”

The Dead Letters Office: the final repository of the undelivered. Love missives unread, gifts unreceived, lost in postal limbo. Dead Letters: An Anthology features new stories from the masters of horror, fantasy and speculative fiction, each inspired by object from the Dead Letters Office.

Why We’re Excited About This Book:

Dead Letters: An Anthology of the Undelivered, the Missing, the Returned is a new anthology curated by the esteemed horror writer Conrad Williams. It features eighteen original stories from the likes of Lisa Tuttle, Pat Cadigan, Alison Moore, Adam Nevill, Nina Allen and Nicholas Royle. It’s a line-up of authors bound to make horror fans eager to get their hands on a copy, and that’s before you factor in the anthology’s unique theme.

The Dead Letter Office is the part of the Royal Mail that deals with letters and parcels that cannot be delivered, each of which is a story untold… until now. And if you think that in this age of email and text messages dead letters don’t exist anymore, think again: there are estimated to be 20 million dead letters in the British postal system at any one time.

So plenty of scope for a sequel then, which given how good this book looks has got to be First Class news.

Dead Letters is released on 22 April 2016 from Titan Books.



Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/look-out-for-fellside-by-m-r-carey-and-dead-letters/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.