Return to Awards

This Is Horror Awards 2020: The Winners

This Is Horror Awards Banner 2020

Listen to the full This Is Horror Awards episode above.

Check out the full This Is Horror Podcast show notes here.

Novel of the Year

The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones - cover

Winner: The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones
Runner-up: Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

“Couldn’t be more thrilled, more honored, for The Only Good Indians to somehow be lucking into a This is Horror Award. Elk is the international language, maybe? No, no. Maybe terror is. Dread. Horror. But also redemption and hope, and all the good things. Because horror’s never just about the bad. Thanks to all the readers, the voters, for this, and thanks to my agent, BJ Robbins, and my editor at Saga, Joe Monti. None of this without y’all.”

—Stephen Graham Jones, author of The Only Good Indians

Novella of the Year


Winner: Crossroads by Laurel Hightower
Runner-up: Ring Shout by P. Djèlí Clark

Short Story Collection of the Year

children of the fang and other genealogies by john langan

Winner: Children of the Fang and Other Genealogies by John Langan
Runner-up: Velocities by Kathe Koja

Anthology of the Year

Miscreations Doug Murano and Michael Bailey

Winner: Miscreations: Gods, Monstrosities & Other Horrors, edited by Doug Murano and Michael Bailey
Runner-up: Worst Laid Plans: An Anthology of Vacation Horror, edited by Samantha Kolesnik

Fiction Magazine of the Year

Nightmare Magazine November 2020

Winner: Nightmare Magazine
Runner-up: The Dark

“It is such an honor to be recognized by the This Is Horror community! There are so many terrific magazines doing fantastic work in horror right now—it’s an incredibly exciting time to be working in the genre, and we just love doing it. We feel so grateful to all our wonderful readers, our talented creators, our amazing staff, and of course to Bob and Michael and the entire This Is Horror team. Thanks everyone!”

—Wendy N. Wagner, Nightmare Magazine Editor-in-Chief

Publisher of the Year

Undertow Publications

Winner: Undertow Publications
Runner-up: Death’s Head Press

“Wow! We’re absolutely thrilled to be named “Publisher of the Year” in the This is Horror Awards. A bit stunned, as well. Truly a great and humbling honour. Thank you to Michael David Wilson, Bob Pastorella, and the This is Horror team, and all the readers. Thanks to everyone who voted for us. This is especially gratifying considering the strength of this category. Congratulations to all my fellow nominees. Publishing is a truly collaborative endeavour, with a bunch of moving parts, so thank you to the writers, the readers, the librarians, the designers, the artists, the editors, the proofreaders, the booksellers, and the reviewers who help keep the wheel turning.”

—Michael Kelly, Undertow Publications publisher

Fiction Podcast of the Year

the other stories by hawk and cleaver

Winner: The Other Stories (Hawk & Cleaver)
Runner-up: NIGHTLIGHT: A Horror Fiction Podcast

Nonfiction Podcast of the Year

Winner: Ink Heist
Runner-up: Post Mortem with Mick Garris

Cover Art of the Year

Arterial Bloom, edited by Mercedes M. Yardley, cover by Todd Keisling

Winner: Todd Keisling for Arterial Bloom, edited by Mercedes M. Yardley
Runner-up: Mike Davis for grotesquerie by Richard Gavin

Permanent link to this article: