This Is Horror Awards 2014: Public nominations are now open

American Mary This Is Horror Film of the Year 2013We’re back for the fourth annual This Is Horror awards. As always the first stage involves public nominations. We’ve changed a few of the categories this year and now have eleven categories.

Readers can e-mail in their nominations for each category. Taking into consideration the nominations for each category This Is Horror will then draw up a shortlist.

The public nominations stage runs from 13 November 2014 through until 28 November 2014.


  1. To be eligible for an award, where applicable, the creative work must have been released between 1 November 2013 and 13 November 2014. This means that the first release – DVD release in the case of films – must have occurred within the above time period. The season nominated for ‘TV Series of the Year’ must have concluded for it to be eligible.
  2. You may only nominate two items per category, if you nominate more than two This Is Horror will only recognise your first two nominations.
  3. You may nominate in as many categories as you like.
  4. Do not send in a nomination for your own work or anything which you are affiliated with.
  5. All nominations must be emailed to [email protected] with the subject line ‘This Is Horror Award Nominations 2014′

The award categories are as follows

  • Novel of the Year
  • Film of the Year
  • TV Series of the Year
  • Short Story Collection of the Year
  • Anthology of the Year
  • Publisher of the Year
  • Magazine of the Year
  • UK Event of the Year
  • Book Cover of the Year
  • Tattoo Artist of the Year
  • Podcast of the Year

Public nominations close at 12:01am GMT on 28 November 2014.


Support This Is Horror Podcast on Patreon

  • For $1 you get early bird access to all our podcasts and can submit questions to guests.
  • For $3 you get access to our patrons-only podcast Story Unboxed: The Horror Podcast on the Craft of Writing.
  • For $4 you get the full interview, no two-parters.

The best way to support This Is Horror is via Patreon. How much will you pledge? Go on. Be awesome.

Visit our Patreon page and pledge to the This Is Horror Podcast today. 

This Is Horror Books

Head on over to the This Is Horror Shop to see the books we have available. We have a special offer on All Four Year One Books—JUST £10!

This Is Horror Books on Kindle Unlimited and Amazon

Subscribe, Rate and Review on iTunes!

Help the Podcast, spread the word: subscribe, rate and review on iTunes UK, iTunes US or your country’s iTunes.

Amazon Affiliates

Support us by shopping through our Amazon Affiliate links: Amazon UK and Amazon US.

Permanent link to this article:


    • JackieChin on December 15, 2014 at 7:44 am
    • Reply

    when will the results from the nominations be posted?

    1. The This Is Horror Awards shortlist will be posted at the end of this month.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: