News Round-up Week Ending 26 October

NOS4A2

NOS4A2 details continue to emerge Joe Hill has announced details of his new novel NOS4A2, through the Cemetery Dance website. Hill said the book is about  “a very bad man with a very bad car. Bad things happen to the children who get in the car with him. These children wind up being driven to a place …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/news-round-up-week-ending-26-october/

Hop Farm Freak Week Returns

The Hatch

The award winning Hop Farm Freak Weak returns this year from 25-31 October at The Hop Farm, Paddock Wood in Kent. The festival has introduced a trio of new events this year with the highlight being a terrifying attraction, billed as the world’s first crawling horror experience – The Hatch. The Hatch is where six schoolchildren …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/hop-farm-freak-week-returns/

Review: Coldbrook by Tim Lebbon

Coldbrook is a new horror novel from bestselling author Tim Lebbon. The story revolves around a secret facility deep in the Appalachian Mountains – named after the eponymous and deceased genius Bill Coldbrook – where a small team of scientists have achieved the impossible: breaking through from Earth into a parallel reality. Aging Jonah Jones …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/review-coldbrook-by-tim-lebbon/

Interview: Harry Manfredini – Part II

The Friday the 13th sequels reused a lot of your music as well as you composing new material. Did the studio come and ask you for, say, ‘ten minutes of new music for the next one’? HM: No. The studio never made any particular demands about the music – they were just pleased with the …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/interview-harry-manfredini-part-ii/

Interview: Carole Jahme

Carole Jahme began her professional career as an actress and circus performer, she moved into wildlife filmmaking, dived into evolutionary theory and today writes about science. But she also uses her imagination to write fiction, primarily horror that is informed by evolutionary science. Read more…

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/interview-carole-jahme/

Interview: Harry Manfredini – Part I

Mention the name Harry Manfredini to any fan of horror movie music and the chances are they will respond with the classic whispering themes of his iconic music to the Friday the 13th series films. As well as writing the scores to eight of the ten movies in that series Harry has worked with Wes …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/interview-harry-manfredini-part-i/

4 Must Read Horror Articles

Cannibal Girls

This week on Must Read Horror Articles: ‘You are dead’: the death of Survival Horror Horror movies: Why do we pay to be scared? B-Movies Extended: Nine PG-13 Horror Movies That Don’t Suck Scary, Eh? The History of Canadian Horror If you want more useful links like the must read horror articles we highlight every …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/4-must-read-horror-articles-23-october-2012/

Interview: K. Trap Jones

K. Trap Jones is an award-winning author of literary horror novels and short stories. His passion for folklore, classic literary fiction and obscure segments within society lead to his creative writing style of filling in the gaps and walking the line between reality and fiction. With a strong inspiration from Dante Alighieri and Edgar Allan …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/interview-k-trap-jones/

Joseph D’Lacey, Pat Cadigan, Jonathan Green and Jasper Bark – London, November 16

As reported earlier this month, the next This Is Horror event will take place at Blackwell’s Charing Cross, London branch on Friday November 16, 2012. Kicking off promptly at 6pm and running through until 8pm, the evening celebrates the launch of Joseph D’Lacey’s forthcoming, Blood Fugue. The event features readings from Arthur C. Clarke award-winner, …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/joseph-dlacey-pat-cadigan-jonathan-green-and-jasper-bark-london-november-16/

News Round-up Week Ending 19 October

The Shining

Adam Nevill – House of Small Shadows Fresh from winning The August Derleth Award for Best Horror Novel at Fantasycon 2012, Adam Nevill has released the cover (left) for his forthcoming new chiller House of Small Shadows. The book will be released in 2013, keep checking This Is Horror for further updates on the release date. …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/news-round-up-week-ending-19-october/

The Concrete Grove Trilogy – Competition Winning Story

Remember a month, or so, back when we announced a competition to win The Concrete Grove trilogy? Contestants had to submit an ending to Gary McMahon’s short story, You Haven’t Seen Me, set in the concrete grove universe. The standard of entries was incredibly high, and we’re delighted to announce that the winner is Ray …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/the-concrete-grove-trilogy-competition-winning-story/

Review: We Are the Night

Hollywood seems to be stuck in a perpetual loop; remaking films that don’t need to be remade and always looking for a fresh twist on an old idea that’s already been covered to death. Therefore, it’s always refreshing to find a little gem that comes out of nowhere. We Are the Night is a German …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/review-we-are-the-night/

Nominations for This Is Horror Awards 2012 close in 2 weeks

If you’d like to put something or someone forward for a This Is Horror Award 2012 then remember the public nominations are only open until 12:01am Wednesday 31 October, 2012. After public nominations, a panel which is comprised of This Is Horror staff members – all of who have no affiliation to any of the …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/nominations-for-this-is-horror-awards-2012-close-in-2-weeks/

Review: In The Tall Grass by Stephen King and Joe Hill

In The Tall Grass is the product of a collaboration between two members of the most talented family in horror, Stephen King and his son Joe Hill. The story was originally published in Esquire magazine earlier this year and is King’s second collaboration with Hill after their 2009 novella Throttle. Read more…

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/review-in-the-tall-grass-by-stephen-king-and-joe-hill/

Paul Kane and Red Splat Pictures team up for Lunar film

Paul Kane, genre favourite and award-winning writer perhaps best known for the Arrowhead trilogy, is collaborating with Red Splat Pictures for forthcoming film Lunar. Dubbed as in the tradition of I Am Legend and Night of the Living Dead, this will certainly whet the appetite of most horror fans. Brad Watson who will be directing …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/paul-kane-and-red-splat-pictures-team-up-for-lunar-film/