News Round-up Week Ending 29 July 2022

Here’s a small selection of the horror and genre news that caught our eye during the last week …

DevilTakesYouHomeAvailable for pre-order now, The Devil Takes You Home, from writer Gabino Iglesias and Mulholland Books

Buried in debt due to his young daughter’s illness, his marriage at the brink, Mario reluctantly takes a job as a hitman, surprising himself with his proclivity for violence. After tragedy destroys the life he knew, Mario agrees to one final job: hijack a cartel’s cash shipment before it reaches Mexico. Along with an old friend and a cartel-insider named Juanca, Mario sets off on the near-suicidal mission, which will leave him with either a cool $200,000 or a bullet in the skull. But the path to reward or ruin is never as straight as it seems. As the three complicated men travel through the endless landscape of Texas, across the border and back, their hidden motivations are laid bare alongside nightmarish encounters that defy explanation. One thing is certain: even if Mario makes it out alive, he won’t return the same. Available for pre-order now in hardcover, paperback, eBook and audiobook editions, you can guarantee your copy here.


AsthorneAshthorne, the debut novella from author April Yates and Ghost Orchid Press, arriving 23 August

In the aftermath of WWI, Adelaide Frost is on the run from a family who do not understand her. Hoping to do some good, she signs up to become a nurse at Ashthorne, a manor house newly designated as a convalescence home for injured soldiers. She quickly falls in love with the owner’s daughter, Evelyn, who hides a warm heart beneath a chilly exterior. But Evelyn has her suspicions about what’s really happening at the hospital, and as Adelaide helps her investigate, it soon becomes apparent that there are more inhabitants residing at Ashthorne than first thought. A romantic Gothic treat perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and The Haunting of Bly Manor, Ashthorne is the debut novella by Derbyshire author April Yates, who was inspired to tell this story by the Ice Age art carved into the walls of local caves. Available to pre-order now in paperback and eBook, you can guarantee your copy here.


PandemoniumArizonaNew from writers Michelle Garza and Melissa Lason, and JournalStone, Pandemonium, Arizona

In a white trash Arizona town a war is coming, a battle for territory between rival drug cartels. Both sides refuse to be taken out easily, but when one seeks help from the blackest of magic, something else comes through too: The Shadow Man, a demon of ancient evil who seeks more than just a stretch of the Arizona border, is set free. He wishes to open the gates to his Kingdom, and to bring suffering and chaos. In a walk-in freezer, a man with loose ties to the cartels gets a glimpse at the approaching darkness and is left poisoned by it. His only hope is a young woman named Adriana, and her grandmother. But when the Shadow Man sets his sights on Adriana, his intentions become clear. He has come to claim what he believes is already his, and to unleash Hell upon the Earth. Available now in paperback and eBook editions, you can grab your copy here.


ThisisTooTenseOut now from Bag of Bones Press and editor SJ Townsend, This is Too Tense

An anthology of second person present horror. Stories from the freshest talent in dark fiction from across the globe. This is the second volume of second person point of view, present tense stories. Do you dare to enter?! All profit from the sale of this anthology in 2022 will go to a children’s charity. Available now in eBook and paperback editions, you can grab your copy here.


KEV HARRISON

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/news-round-up-week-ending-29-july-2022/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: