News Round-up Week Ending 22 July 2022

Here’s a small selection of the horror and genre news that caught our eye during the last week …

I Have Asked Coming soon

Arriving 29 July from Crystal Lake Publishing and writer Gwendolyn N. Nix, I Have Asked To Be Where No Storms Come

The facts of Domino Bluepoint’s afterlife are simple in this horror adventure: he’s a half-breed witch from a people without a name, and no one wants to be stuck in Hell with witch blood. When a demon bounty-hunter comes calling, Domino pairs up with his mother, who died too young and carries the witch lineage in her veins, to survive. Soon the two of them are Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid running from whatever torture awaits them and whoever wants to harvest their magic. Yet, Domino doesn’t know that his brother, Wicasah, is behind this and is desperate to resurrect Domino out of long-lasting guilt and a sensation of belonging to no place and no one. As Wicasah dives deeper into darker magic that ends in an ill-made deal, Domino must overcome addiction, depression, and hone his own brand of witch-magic to help save his brother—and the world—from an ancient god. I Have Asked to be Where No Storms Come is perfect for fans of Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, supernatural fiction, dark fantasy, adult horror books. Available to pre-order now in eBook with a paperback edition to follow, you can guarantee your copy here.


TwilightAtGatesTwilight at the Gates, the new collection from Mark Allan Gunnells and Cemetery Gates Media, out now

Twilight at the Gates is a short story collection written in homage to programs that once featured speculative tales such as The Twilight Zone. Mark Allan Gunnells is a master craftsman of the short story form and in these stories and poems he hopes to proffer the weird, the strange, and the uncanny from the darkest recesses of his psyche. A couple watches night after night as the stars quietly disappear, breathlessly waiting for their own star to fade… A group trapped in an abominable situation, a storm of the century with no end in sight… Stories dealing with time travel, grief, and even a Halloween tale await readers of Twilight at the Gates. Available now in paperback and eBook editions, you can get your copy here.


FullImmersionAvailable for pre-order now from writer Gemma Amor and Angry Robot, Full Immersion, available 13 September

What can you do when you’re reeling from trauma but you’ve tried it all? Counselling, yoga, pills, meditation, art, healthy living… none of it makes a dent. What’s left? Magpie is out of ideas. She’s desperate enough to try anything. Just when she thinks her life can get no worse, she discovers herself, or rather her own dead body, partially buried in the mudbank of a river. A man stands by, a familiar stranger. What does he want? And why can’t she remember getting here? Why can’t she remember anything? Unbeknownst to her, two pairs of eyes watch from behind an observation screen, in a room filled with computers and sensors. An experiment is unfolding, but is Magpie the subject, or practitioner? Reality becomes a slippery concept. And beyond the glass is something worse still: a hint of an outline, shaped in darkness… Magpie realises all too soon that her journey has transformed from healing to survival. She must become the hunter rather than the hunted, with her missing memories the prey. In turn brutal, beautiful and absolutely terrifying, Full Immersion is the latest speculative horror from Bram Stoker Award-nominated author, Gemma Amor. Available for pre-order now in paperback and eBook formats, you can guarantee your copy here.


ReconstructingARelationshipOut today on Godless, Reconstructing a Relationship  from writer Micah Castle and D&T Publishing

Drew and Terry while out on a date suffer a terrible car accident. The boyfriend dies, but the girlfriend survives. Desperate to be with her love once more, Terry steals Drew’s brain from the morgue and escapes the hospital. She’s determined to bring him back, by any means necessary. Through years of reading ancient books, learning forgotten languages, and drawing symbols she cannot comprehend, Terry successfully gets what she wants… And, what she deserves. Available now in eBook format on Godless, with other venues and formats to follow, you can grab your copy here.


KEV HARRISON

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/news-round-up-week-ending-22-july-2022/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: