News Round-up Week Ending 19 March 2021

Here’s a small selection of the horror and genre news that caught our eye during the last week …

Eidolon Avenue 2 banner 1

Coming 26 March from writer Jonathan Winn and Crystal Lake Publishing, Eidolon Avenue: The Second Feast

One building. Five floors. Five doors per floor. Twenty-five nightmares feeding the hunger lurking between the bricks and waiting beneath the boards. The sequel to Eidolon Avenue: The First Feast (“a great read…powerful and jarring” – Cemetery Dance) returns to the voracious Eidolon as it savors The Second Feast. A narcoleptic man in apartment 2A battles a vengeful past determined to rob him of everything as he runs from the barbaric disaster of a delusional love. A woman in 2B, reinventing herself to please a callous boyfriend, discovers the horrors that wait in the shadows of her self-renovation. The man in 2C, a teacher at the nearby Catholic girl’s school, collapses beneath the brutal consequences of his lecherous desires. An older woman in 2D, after decades dedicated to the church, is cornered at last by the grisly carnage beating at the hollow center of her faith. And a college student in 2E, hungry to escape an ignored life of invisible anonymity, finds herself captured between the pages of a ravenous book. Available in paperback and eBook formats, you can pre-order your copy here, now.

Paranormal ContactParanormal Contact, a new anthology of quiet supernatural horror from Cemetery Gates Media, out now

Paranormal Contact: A Quiet Horror Confessional is an anthology of first-person narratives, many of which blur the line between contemporary horror fiction and autobiographical recollection. Each story is an encounter with the supernatural; while the experiences with ghosts and otherworldly entities may be sometimes subtle, they are often hair-raising, and at times, genuinely disturbing. Featuring authors such as Nicholas Day, Eric J. Guignard, Joanna Koch, Ali Seay and Chad Lutzke, you can pick up your copy, in paperback or eBook format right now.


Classic Monsters Unleashed, a new anthology featuring the monsters of classic horror cinema, on Kickstarter now

CLASSIC MONSTERS UNLEASHED will contain at least 25 dark, scary stories about your favorite monsters written by the biggest names in the horror genre — including Joe LansdaleJonathan Maberry, Ramsey Campbell, Richard Christian Matheson, Lisa Morton, Seanan McGuire, Linda D. AddisonOwl Goingback and many others. The anthology will also feature monster art by the legendary Frank Frazetta, the modern master of the dark arts Mister Sam Shearon and cover artist extraordinaire Colton Worley. The book will be edited by James Aquilone, and published by the award-winning Crystal Lake Publishing by the end of 2021. Currently on Kickstarter, with a huge number of exciting perks still available, you can find out more, pledge your support and guarantee yourself a copy of this anthology on release now, here.

LastLightLast Light, the first episode of Sci-fi Horror serial The Sunset Chronicles, by Paul Stephenson, available now, free in eBook format

British-based independent publisher Hollow Stone Press is pleased to announce its first flagship publication, the epic Sunset Chronicles, by British author Paul Stephenson. The Sunset Chronicles is a dystopian sci-fi thriller that will delight and terrify fans of science fiction and horror alike. It’s an epic tale that will spread over nine full seasons, with five monthly instalments per series, totalling over a million words once completed. The year is 2107. Earth is dying. For Wyn, Lois, and Judd, that’s the least of their problems. They might not know it, but each holds a key to Earth’s cure … and humanity’s survival. If you like pulse-quickening action, blood-soaked science fiction, revelations, and revolutions, you’ll love this first episode in Paul Stephenson’s Sunset Chronicles, the new monthly sci-fi/horror serial. The first book of Season One, Last Light, is available for free
download now at all major online retailers.

HardForHopeToFlourishNew from Crone Girls Press’ Midnight Bites series, Hard for Hope to Flourish, by Melanie Bell, Nyamweya Maxwell and Thomas Ouphe

Two sisters follow separate, dangerous paths in search of beauty, magic, and escape from the deadening nature of the prosaic world. A voice in his head leads Mr. Boasi Joram Nyaoma into a world worse than madness and the slow death of hope. Tired of the tabloid speculation their father’s disappearance feeds, Amelia finds herself inexorably drawn to the marshland where, over twenty years ago, something called him to his death. Settle in for three literary tales of quiet horror—stories to chill the blood as the night draws on and the shadows creep closer along the floor. Available now in eBook format, you can grab your copy here.


Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.