Look Out For … The Book of Accidents by Chuck Wendig

The Book of Accidents by Chuck Wendig - cover“With his latest, Wendig presents us with a family returning home, facing the horrors that stayed behind while wrestling with those familiar fears that haunt us all.”

A long time ago, Nathan was tormented by his abusive father in their house in the country. He’s never told anyone what happened.

A long time ago, while making dolls in her bedroom, Maddie saw something she should not have seen, and tries to tap into that trauma by making haunting sculptures.

A long time ago, something evil and hungry walked through the coal mines and mountains in their Pennsylvania hometown.

Today, Nate and Maddie are married, and with their son Oliver, have moved back to their hometown. What happened so long ago is happening again. This time, it’s happening to Oliver. He has a new best friend now, a strange boy with a taste for magic and dark secrets of his own.

At the heart of a battle of good versus evil, Nate and Maddie fight for their souls, and the soul of their family. And they have a secret weapon: their love.

Why we’re excited about this book:

When it comes to modern masters of speculative fiction, Chuck Wendig is one name readers see again and again. The author of  Wanderers, the Miriam Black series, Zeroes, Invasive, the Star Wars Aftermath series, The Blue Blazes, Under the Empyrean Sky, as well the Atlanta Burns series, Wendig has also written several popular writing reference guides such as The Kick-Ass Writer and Damn Fine Story among others. With his latest, Wendig presents us with a family returning home, facing the horrors that stayed behind while wrestling with those familiar fears that haunt us all. Dan Chaon (Ill Will) says: “Chuck Wendig’s The Book of Accidents transported me to the golden age of sprawling horror novels that I loved so much as a kid. Sweeping yet intimate, multilayered and big hearted, this is a novel to sink deeply into.”, and John Langan (The Fisherman, Children of the Fang and Other Genealogies) says: “In the tradition of Stephen King’s Dark Tower books, Wendig views the cosmic and terrifying through the lens of the domestic, anchoring his visions of the sublime in the grit of the familiar. The result is a novel to ramble around in, to get lost in.”

Releasing from Del Rey 20 July 2021, The Book of Accidents by Chuck Wendig is available for pre-order now.

BOB PASTORELLA


Support This Is Horror Podcast on Patreon

  • For $1 you get early bird access to all our podcasts and can submit questions to guests.
  • For $3 you get access to our patrons-only podcast Story Unboxed: The Horror Podcast on the Craft of Writing.
  • For $4 you get the full interview, no two-parters.

The best way to support This Is Horror is via Patreon. How much will you pledge? Go on. Be awesome.

Visit our Patreon page and pledge to the This Is Horror Podcast today. 

This Is Horror Books

Head on over to the This Is Horror Shop to see the books we have available. We have a special offer on All Four Year One Books—JUST £10!

This Is Horror Books on Kindle Unlimited and Amazon

Subscribe, Rate and Review on iTunes!

Help the Podcast, spread the word: subscribe, rate and review on iTunes UK, iTunes US or your country’s iTunes.

Amazon Affiliates

Support us by shopping through our Amazon Affiliate links: Amazon UK and Amazon US.

Permanent link to this article: https://www.thisishorror.co.uk/look-out-for-the-book-of-accidents-by-chuck-wendig/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: