TOD 027: A Strange & Darksome Night: A Panel & Readings Celebrating Nightscript III

In this podcast The Outer Dark presents ‘A Strange and Darksome Night: Readings from Nightscript III’ from Night Time Logic Reading Series, hosted by Daniel Braum and featuring authors Inna Effress, Julia Rust, and David Surface, plus an exclusive interview with Daniel Braum and CM Muller, editor of Nightscript III. The panel and readings were recorded live at Lovecraft Bar in New York City on Monday November 27, 2017.

The Outer Dark Symposium on the Greater Weird is a unique immersive one-day event featuring approximately 12 hours of panels, readings, signings and social activities centered around contemporary Weird and speculative fiction. The second annual event will be held Saturday March 24, 2018 at the Winchester Mystery House in San Jose, CA, one of the Weirdest Places in the USA. Limited to 75 attendees. Buy your memberships here.

Show Notes

(00:02:17) The Outer Dark presents ‘A Strange and Darksome Night: Readings from Nightscript III‘ from Night Time Logic Reading Series, hosted and moderated by Daniel Braum (The Wish Mechanics) and featuring authors Inna Effress, Julia Rust, and David Surface, recorded live at Lovecraft Bar in New York City on Monday November 27, 2017. After a short introduction by Daniel Braum, the authors discuss Weird fiction and their stories in Nightscript III, including starting points for defining the elusive Weird, how the author’s own works relate to Weird fiction, defying genre conventions, The Weird seeping into mainstream media, working with the supernatural or the ‘strange’ element in their stories, Robert Aickman who is an inspiration for the Nightscript series, the subconscious as ‘magic’, clueing in your muse, ‘major natural disasters’, night time logic, emotions invoked by their Nightscript III stories, the tension when the supernatural may or may not show up, their favorite stories from the anthology, sadness in horror stories, and changes in perspective when writers go Weird.

(00:59:10) The three authors read their stories in Nightscript III: (00:59:50) ‘Young Bride’ by Julia Rust, (01:16:50) ‘Something You Leave Behind’ by David Surface, and (01:32:25) ‘Liquid Air’ by Inna Effress. Thank you to Daniel Braum for recording this special evening.

Discussion: Daniel Braum and CM Muller

(00:01:10) Daniel Braum and CM Muller join Scott to introduce the panel and then return between segments (00:50:10) to discuss the panel and readings as an entry level to Weird fiction, the Night-Time Logic series, framing Nightscript to appeal to readers of Weird and Strange fiction, other genre terminology such as the ‘uncanny’ and the ‘eerie’, unhinged reality, and introducing the Nightscript III authors.

(01:58:33) CM Muller goes further behind the scenes of the Nightscript anthology series including its lineage in the tradition of Shadows (ed. Charles L. Grant), Whispers (ed. Stuart David Schiff), and Shadows and Tall Trees (ed. Michael Kelly), taking submissions for Nightscript IV (January 2018 reading period) and Twice-Told: A Collection of Doubles (June 2018), and how he stretches the edges when editing. (02:14:05). The episode concludes with Daniel Braum reading from ‘Palankar’, his story in Nightscript III.

Please subscribe to The Outer Dark podcast RSS Feed
Subscribe via iTunes
Listen to The Outer Dark via iTunes
Subscribe via Blubrry
Listen via Stitcher

Support This Is Horror on Patreon

Visit our Patreon page and donate to The Outer Dark and the This Is Horror Podcast today. 

Additional Links

Daniel Braum Official Author Website

Slipstream

It Follows (2014) trailer

‘Agnes Martin: A Matter-of-Fact Mystic’ (The New Yorker)

James Everington

Rebecca J. Allred

Gary McMahon

TOD A17 CM Muller: A Lineage of Shadows in the Nightscript

The Dark Descent, ed. David Hartwell

José Cruz

Adam Golaski

Phantasm/Chimera: An Anthology of Strange and Troublesome Dreams, ed. Scott Dwyer

Rowley Amato

The Tenant (1976) trailer

The Tenant by Roland Topor, reviewed at Too Much Horror Fiction

MK Anderson

Christi Nogle

Simon Strantzas

Tales of the Quintana Roo by James Tiptree Jr.

Show Credits

Host/Executive Producer: Scott Nicolay

Co-Host, News From the Weird: Justin Steele

Associate Producer/Show Notes: Anya Martin

Logo Design: Nick “The Hat” Gucker

Music: Michael Griffin


Support This Is Horror Podcast on Patreon

  • For $1 you get early bird access to all our podcasts and can submit questions to guests.
  • For $3 you get exclusive story craft episodes.
  • For $4 you get the full interview, no two-parters.

The best way to support This Is Horror is via Patreon. How much will you pledge? Go on. Be awesome.

Support This Is Horror on Patreon

Visit our Patreon page and pledge to the This Is Horror Podcast today. 

This Is Horror Books

Head on over to the This Is Horror Shop to see the books we have available. We have a special offer on All Four Year One Books—JUST £10!

This Is Horror Books on Kindle Unlimited and Amazon

Subscribe, Rate and Review on iTunes!

Help the Podcast, spread the word: subscribe, rate and review on iTunes UK, iTunes US or your country’s iTunes.

Amazon Affiliates

Support us by shopping through our Amazon Affiliate links: Amazon UK and Amazon US.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/tod-027-a-strange-darksome-night-a-panel-readings-celebrating-nightscript-iii/

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: