This Is Horror Awards 2015: The Winners

this is horror award winners stamp

Thank you to everyone who voted and to all the amazing creators for creating. 2015 was a phenomenal year for horror. Here are the winners of the This Is Horror Awards 2015.

Novel of the Year

A Head Full of Ghosts Paul Tremblay Novel of the Year

Winner: A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay
Runner-up: Lost Girl by Adam Nevill

Thank you to everyone involved with THIS IS HORROR who continue to be tireless champions of horror in its various forms. Thank you to the many talented authors on the ballot whose work inspires my own. Thank you to all the readers who voted for A Head Full of Ghosts. I’m humbled, deeply honored, and terribly (in a non-horrorway) excited!

Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts

Novella of the Year

The Box Jumper by Lisa Mannetti Novella of the Year

Winner: The Box Jumper by Lisa Mannetti
Runner-up: Dead Leaves by Andrew David Barker

I’m honored and thrilled that The Box Jumper has won the This is Horror Novella of the Year Award. There were so many worthwhile entries, I feel very privileged that my novella about Houdini was selected. I can’t express enough gratitude and thanks to everyone, but am particularly appreciative of the dedication of my agent, Cherry Weiner, my publisher, Weldon Burge of Smart Rhino Publications, and my brother, Peter—like the great magician himself, always an inspiration to me—to whom this work was dedicated.

Lisa Mannetti, author of The Box Jumper

Short Story Collection of the Year

Sing Me Your Scars by Damien Angelica Walters Short Story Collection of the Year

Winner: Sing Me Your Scars by Damien Angelica Walters
Runner-up: The Nameless Dark by T.E. Grau

I was thrilled that Sing Me Your Scars was in such fine company, and I’m honored to have won. Thank you to Jason Sizemore, Lesley Conner, and Apex Publications for bringing the collection to life, and thank you, too, to the editors who originally published many of the stories. And last, but definitely not least, thank you to everyone who read and voted. Truly, the stories are only half-finished until they’re in your hands.

Damien Angelica Walters, author of Sing Me Your Scars

Anthology of the Year

Cthulhu Fhtagn! Ross E. Lockhart Anthology of the Year This Is Horror

Winner: Cthulhu Fhtagn!, edited by Ross E. Lockhart
Runner-up: The Monstrous, edited by Ellen Datlow

I feel honored that the readers of This Is Horror have chosen Cthulhu Fhtagn! as the Anthology of the Year, particularly since This Is Horror does such an exemplary job of tracking the pulse of the horror field. With Cthulhu Fhtagn!, I sought to bring together the best storytellers I could, to tell the best stories they could, in celebration of the complicated legacy of an author whose influence we all feel. We who write (and create other art) in Lovecraft’s shadow have long explored the alien vistas and weird creations that H.P.L. dreamed up nearly a century ago, but with Cthulhu Fhtagn!, we brought Cthulhu and his dread company of fellow alien god-monsters home, and you enjoyed it so much you voted for it. Thank you!

Ross E. Lockhart, editor of Cthulhu Fhtagn!

Fiction Magazine of the Year

Apex Magazine This Is Horror Magazine of the Year

Winner: Apex Magazine
Runner-up: Strange Aeons

Winning Fiction Magazine of the Year is incredibly gratifying. Apex Magazine works hard to find stories that blend genres, bringing a dark flavor to scifi and fantasy, finding horror where it isn’t expected (one of the best kinds of horror, right?). Thank you to This Is Horror and its readers for letting us know we’re doing it right!

Jason Sizemore, editor of Apex Magazine

Publisher of the Year

Word Horde This Is Horror Publisher of the Year

Winner: Word Horde
Runner-up: ChiZine Publications

Thank you so much for selecting Word Horde as This Is Horror’s Publisher of the Year. This is indeed an honor, and the joy I feel over our hard work being recognized in two categories filled with awesome books is not doubled, but exponential. I founded Word Horde with one big idea in mind: Treat authors, artists, designers, editors, and everyone else involved in the creation of cool books as well as possible. Pay people what they’re worth. Make the best books you can. So far, it’s been a wonderful journey. We started with one book: Tales of Jack the Ripper, in 2013. Then there were two, then three, and so on. 2015 was our biggest year so far, with five titles published: Molly Tanzer’s Vermilion, Nicole Cushing’s Mr. Suicide, Orrin Grey’s Painted Monsters, and the anthologies Giallo Fantastique and Cthulhu Fhtagn!. This year, we’re publishing another five. And I’m looking forward to turning you on to them. Thank you for being readers, and for making this all possible. You rock.

Ross E. Lockhart, Publisher & Editor-in-Chief of Word Horde

Podcast of the Year

The Outer Dark This Is Horror Podcast of the Year

Winner: The Outer Dark
Runner-up: Horror News Radio

I am extremely grateful to everyone who voted, to Jess Roberts and Project iRadio for providing me this platform, and to The Outer Dark team: Justin Steele, Anya Martin, Nick Gucker, Mike Griffin, and Sam McCanna. The vision of the program from the beginning has been to showcase both important new work in the field of Weird fiction and its diversity, and I feel like this is a validation of that vision. Thank you all so very, very much.

Scott Nicolay, host of The Outer Dark

Film of the Year

It Follows This Is Horror Film of the Year

Winner: It Follows
 What We Do in the Shadows

TV Show of the Year

Hannibal Season 3 This Is Horror Award

Winner: Hannibal (Season Three) 
 Penny Dreadful (Season Two)

Artist of the Year

Daniele Serra This Is Horror Artist of the Year 2015

Winner: Daniele Serra
 Vincent Chong

I am deeply honored and delighted to receive this award! Thanks to This Is Horror to all those who love horror and especially to my wife, to whom I want to dedicate this award

Daniele Serra

Support This Is Horror Podcast on Patreon

  • For $1 you get early bird access to all our podcasts and can submit questions to guests.
  • For $3 you get exclusive story craft episodes.
  • For $4 you get the full interview, no two-parters.

The best way to support This Is Horror is via Patreon. How much will you pledge? Go on. Be awesome.

Support This Is Horror on Patreon

Visit our Patreon page and pledge to the This Is Horror Podcast today. 

This Is Horror Books

Head on over to the This Is Horror Shop to see the books we have available. We have a special offer on All Four Year One Books—JUST £10!

This Is Horror Books on Kindle Unlimited and Amazon

Subscribe, Rate and Review on iTunes!

Help the Podcast, spread the word: subscribe, rate and review on iTunes UK, iTunes US or your country’s iTunes.

Amazon Affiliates

Support us by shopping through our Amazon Affiliate links: Amazon UK and Amazon US.

Want a free horror eBook?


Subscribe for the latest horror news and to find out about new This Is Horror products, podcasts, books, and all that good stuff ahead of the crowd. What have got to lose? I guess, nothing really, you could unsubscribe any time. I mean, technically you could just grab the free eBook and run. That'd be it. Easy. But don't do that. Stick around. You might like it here.

We won't send spam, just great horror content. Powered by ConvertKit

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/this-is-horror-awards-2015-the-winners/

1 comment

  1. crashpalace (@crashpalace)

    Excellent! Congratulations to all the winners!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: