The Cutting Room: Humans

Humans

Humans In the near future, the must have accessory for any home is a “Synth”, a robotic servant that is eerily lifelike. However, not everybody is convinced that they are the way forward, and it would appear that their fears are not unfounded. Why we’re looking forward to this: Robots have always been the source …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/the-cutting-room-humans/

Look Out For… The Strangers & Other Writings by Robert Aickman and Aickman’s Heirs

81gHe8JcIQL

Look Out For… The Strangers & Other Writings by Robert Aickman “The publication of new stories in The Strangers & Other Writings is likely to be the highlight of the year for Aickman fans.” The Strangers & Other Writings includes previously unpublished and uncollected short fiction, non-fiction and poetry by Robert Aickman. Dating from the …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/look-out-for-the-strangers-other-writings-by-robert-aickman-and-aickmans-heirs/

TIH 044: Josh Malerman on Ghastle and Yule, and How To Tackle Self-Doubt and Finish Your Story

In this podcast we interview Josh Malerman in part three of our interview. Josh talks about Ghastle and Yule, and how to tackle self-doubt and finish your story. Check out our previous episodes with Josh Malerman. TIH 035: Josh Malerman on Bird Box, The ‘Horror’ Label and Overnight Success TIH 037: Josh Malerman on The …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/tih-044-josh-malerman-on-ghastle-and-yule-and-how-to-tackle-self-doubt-and-finish-your-story/

5 Must Read Horror Articles 18 May 2015

IotBS3

Welcome to Must Read Horror. The internet has been scoured once again for the week’s best horror articles, and the results are in: It Follows and the Science Behind the Creepy-Crawlies Poltergeist: How Tobe Hooper Deconstructed the American Dream & Fueled My Childhood Nightmares 10 Great Found Footage Horror Movies for Beginners How Horror Lit …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/5-must-read-horror-articles-18-may-2015/

News Round-up Week Ending 15 May

Stephen Graham Jones

Portman to star in Annihilation? Oscar winning actress Natalie Portman is due to star in the big screen adaptation of Jeff Vandermeer’s novel Annihilation, the first book in his Southern Reach Trilogy. The contract is yet to be signed but  the wheels are clearly turning, whereas Julianne Moore and Tilda Swinton are also heavily linked …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/news-round-up-week-ending-15-may/

The Cutting Room: IT

itcover

IT It’s a small city, a place as hauntingly familiar as your own hometown. Only in Derry the haunting is real… They were seven teenagers when they first stumbled upon the horror. Now they are grown-up men and women who have gone out into the big world to gain success and happiness. But none of …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/the-cutting-room-it/

Look Out For… Day Four by Sarah Lotz and The Scarlet Gospels by Clive Barker

25054175

Look Out For… Day Four by Sarah Lotz “A work of claustrophobic, nautical terror.” The trip of their dreams becomes the holiday of their nightmares: Day Four is Sarah Lotz’s extraordinary, unmissable follow-up to the book that made headlines around the world, The Three–perfect for fans of The Shining Girls, The Passage and Lost. Four …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/look-out-for-day-four-by-sarah-lotz-and-the-scarlet-gospels-by-clive-barker/

Tales from the Word Mine: On Reading

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep Philip K Dick

In the course of my job, I read a lot of books. That’s because, essentially, that’s what my job is. As a writer, it’s essential that you read as widely as possible, but it’s also an essential part of being an editor. And here, I’m not just talking about the books you may be working …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/tales-from-the-word-mine-on-reading/

TIH 043: John Joseph Adams on Best American Science Fiction & Fantasy, Anthologies and Diversity

In this podcast John Joseph Adams talks about putting together anthologies, Best American Science Fiction & Fantasy, ensuring diversity within anthologies and much more. About John Joseph Adams John Joseph Adams is the series editor of Best American Science Fiction & Fantasy, as well as many other anthologies, such as Wastelands, The Living Dead, and The Apocalypse Triptych. …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/tih-043-john-joseph-adams-on-best-american-science-fiction-fantasy-anthologies-and-diversity/

5 Must Read Horror Articles 11 May 2015

It Follows

Welcome, once again, to Must Read Horror. You want great horror articles? This is the place to find the best the web has to offer. This week: Is ‘It Follows’ Paving the Way to a New Era for Indie Genre Films? Eaten Alive: The Bizarre True Story Behind Tobe Hooper’s Alligator Horror Movie 10 Crazy …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/5-must-read-horror-articles-11-may-2015/

News Round-up Week Ending 8 May

The Outsiders

Shirley Jackson nominees announced The nominees for 2014 Shirley Jackson Awards have been announced. The best novel category sees Alison Littlewood duke it out with Jeff Vandermeer and Josh Malerman whereas in the edited anthology category, Spectral Press’ The Spectral Book of Horror Stories gets a nod. British authors Steve Volk and V.H. Leslie also pick up nominations. …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/news-round-up-week-ending-8-may/

Film Review: The Asylum (2014)

THE_ASYLUM_DVD_2D

“Ultimately a crowded and unoriginal disappointment.” This movie was originally announced in 2011 as Backmask, was retitled as the intriguingly monikered Exeter and has now appeared (from StudioCanal releasing) under the far less interesting title of The Asylum. In online adverts it’s described as “taboo-breaking” and “terrifying”, and it comes with a certain lustre as …

Continue reading »

Permanent link to this article: http://www.thisishorror.co.uk/film-review-asylum-2014/

Older posts «